About Us

The Kentucky Bar Foundation, Inc. (KBF) is a nonprofit organization serving as the charitable arm of Kentucky’s legal community. Its mission is to further the public’s understanding of the judicial system and the legal profession through programs and philanthropic partnerships that help those in need.

Thank you to Lawyers Mutual Insurance Company of Kentucky
for making this film possible.

Providing Help Today and Hope for Tomorrow

The Kentucky Bar Foundation, Inc. has awarded grants totaling over $3.5 million since 1988 to agencies promoting access to justice and law-related education for Kentuckians.  The KBF has also developed its own projects toward this mission at times.  KBF support has positively affected the lives of many citizens of our Commonwealth and furthered the administration of justice through programs that include:

  • educating the public about law and the justice system
  • helping at-risk children
  • providing funding to assist abused women and children
  • assisting veterans with legal problems by funding clinics offering free legal services
  • providing funding to educate high school seniors about abuse of credit
  • preserving legal history

Click here to review the KBF's annual fact sheet outlining
the KBF's impact across the Commonwealth in 2019.

Contact Us

KBF’s Board of Directors and staff are readily available to answer your questions and tell you how you can help.

The Kentucky Bar Foundation, Inc.
Kentucky Bar Center
514 W. Main Street
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601-1812
(800) 874-6582
(502) 564-3795

Executive Director
Guion L. Johnstone

Program Manager
Gwen Smallenburg


Board of Directors 2019-2020


President:  James A. Sigler
President-Elect:  John R. Crockett III
Vice President:  Allison J. Donovan
Secretary/Treasurer:  Delores Woods Baker
Immediate Past President:  Rebekkah Bravo Rechter
IOLTA Chair:  Robert W. Kellerman


First Supreme Court District
G. Kent Price, Paducah
James A. Sigler, Paducah
H. Douglas Willen, Hopkinsville

Second Supreme Court District
Andrew J. Johnson, Owensboro
Scott D. Laufenberg, Bowling Green
Stephanie McGehee Shacklette, Bowling Green

Third Supreme Court District
Douglas G. Benge, London
Julie R. Gillum, Somerset
Kelly Kirby Ridings, London

Fourth Supreme Court District
John R. Crockett III, Louisville
Rebekkah Bravo Rechter, Louisville
Don W. F. Rodgers, Louisville
Melinda T. Sunderland, Louisville

Fifth Supreme Court District
J. Hadden Dean, Danville
Allison J. Donovan, Lexington
Joshua E. Santana, Lexington
Sadhna True, Lexington

Sixth Supreme Court District
Delores Woods Baker, Maysville
Robert Edward Sanders, Covington
Emily E. Walters, Florence

Seventh Supreme Court District
William J. Baird, III, Pikeville
Rachel Wagner Kennedy, Pikeville
Senator Robin L. Webb, Grayson

Ex Officio Directors

Kentucky Supreme Court
Appointment Pending

Kentucky Court of Appeals
Judge Kelly Thompson, Bowling Green

Kentucky Circuit Judges Association
Judge A. C. McKay Chauvin, Louisville

Kentucky District Judges Association
Judge Earl-Ray Neal, Richmond

Chair, Kentucky IOLTA Fund
Robert W. Kellerman, Frankfort

KBA President Representative
J. Stephen Smith, Fort Mitchell

KBA Past President Representative
Douglas C. Ballantine, Louisville

KBA Young Lawyers Division Representative
Lee Metzger, Edgewood

Salmon P. Chase College of Law
Interim Dean Michael Whiteman, Highland Heights

University of Kentucky College of Law
Interim Dean Mary J. Davis, Lexington

University of Louisville Brandeis School of Law
Dean Colin Crawford, Louisville


Financial Information

Visit the Foundation's GuideStar Nonprofit Profile here. If you are interested in additional informaton, the Foundation's governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements will be made available upon written request.